Southern Culture On The Skids
news music & movies tour dates shop at the skidmart contact home cooking the band Kudzu Ranch Recorders

Rick swings his mini-axe
SCOTS Music & Movies
Watch SCOTS raise their "Freak Flag" high.
Jon Chattman was at the 5th Annual Savannah Stopover Music Festival March 5-7, 2015 captured this exclusive performance of Freak Flag for The HuffPo and A-Sides Jon Chattman. Ths was filmed at the Stopover Artists' Lounge.

SCOTS on "On Tour" from WHYY-TV. Features an interview with Rick and concert footage from the Sellersville Theatre 1894.


Check out Mary (as Loretta) & Dave (as Conway Twitty) doing "As Soon As I Hang Up The Phone" in the "Hey Loretta Hillbilly Hoedown & Pie Social" at the Continental Club in April 2012 in Austin TX (benefiting the SIMS Foundation). The show featured pretty much every honky tonk gal in Austin singin' Loretta songs and bringin' pie! Mary & Dave got up and did "As Soon as I Hang Up the Phone", then Mary did "Blue Kentucky Girl". And Mary won Marti Brom's incredible cherry pie in the pie auction! SCOTS followed this Monday night with a week of shows at the Continental Club. Wow, Austin knows how to throw a shindig!

Check Out SCOTS performing "Zombified" at the Berkeley Cafe in Raleigh, NC, Halloween 2009

Wow!! SCOTS primo amigo Fred Kirckhoff made a music video for "It's the Music that Makes Me"!!! He went so far as to create a turntable made up of cement mixer parts and air raid siren parts from 3 Mile Island! Note that no teens were harmed in the making of this video! Li'l Mary is played by Olivia and li'l Rick is played by MacKenzie! Meghan and Brittany are on drums and guitar, respectively. This is 100% BAD ASS!!!


This is from Sleazefest '94 — the hottest, sweatiest, greasiest, raunchiest music fest around. It took place in the dawg days of August at the Local 506 in Chapel Hill, NC. Southern Culture On The Skids invited Hasil Adkins, the hillbilly wild man, up to perform his signature song, "Hubcap Hunch".


SCOTS Live at the 1997 Mt Fuji Rock Festival doing "Greenback Fly" in front of a huge crowd of adoring fans.


The original band edit video for "Camel Walk" without the movie clips from "Flirting With Disaster".


Rare early SCOTS video for "Roadside Wreck" now available for your viewing pleasure!


SCOTS performs an acoustic version of "My House Has Wheels" on a rare webisode of Backstage @ Tennessee Shines



Zombified!! Zombified, Southern Culture On The Skids’ tribute to the horror and exploitation movies that populated Southern theaters and drive-ins during the 60s and 70s, is out now on Kudzu Records. Originally released in Australia as an eight song EP in 1998, the Zombified Extended Release is now a full LP with the addition of five new tunes, and will receive its first U.S. release September 27. It's available for now at

The new and improved Zombified has been re-mastered and re-packaged with cover art by Sean Starwars and design by Yee Haw industries. Rick Miller, guitarist and singer for the band said, “you know, the Zombified EP never had a proper U.S. release and the band is excited about it happening now as a full album.” The album is available in all formats, CD, digital download and LP. The LP is a limited edition of 1000 on blood red vinyl complete with CD inside! Zombified will be for sale this September in record stores, web stores and at

"I was always attracted to low budget DIY films," said Miller. "Maybe it was the lurid posters and newspaper ads that sucked me in as a kid. Later, I got into the directors, like Mario Bava, Hershell Gordon Lewis and George Romero, to name just a few. They made some entertaining and pretty disturbing movies from way outside the mainstream. A big influence on my approach to making music!"

The band’s music is no stranger to horror/exploitation films. Previous SCOTS songs can be found in soundtracks like the Spanish psycho classic "Perdita Durango," directed by Alex de la Iglesia and starring future Academy Award winner Javier Bardem. In the teen screamer "I Know What You Did Last Summer" the band makes an on screen appearance playing "My Baby's Got The Strangest Ways." SCOTS also supplied the soundtrack to "Blood Feast II, Buffet of Blood," the sequel to HGL's original gore epic.

Click below for a song-by-song preview of the coming attractions.

Be sure to check out the TOUR DATES page and catch SCOTS on the road!

SCOTS gets Zombified!



HOLD ON...... IT'S COMING......... IT'S COMING ........... IT'S COMING............. IT'S HERE....................

—The new SCOTS album "THE KUDZU RANCH", a collection of 12 new tunes recorded at the one and only Kudzu Ranch Recorders in Alamance Co. NC is out now!

Track listing:
  1. Bone Dry Dirt
  2. It's the Music that Makes Me
  3. Pig Pickin'
  4. Highlife
  5. Slinky Spring Milt
  6. Montague's Mystery Theme
  7. Are You Ready for the Country
  8. My Neighbor Burns Trash
  9. Bad Boys
  10. Come As You Are/Lucifer Sam
  11. Busy Road
  12. Jack's Tune
"The Kudzu Ranch is collection of 10 originals and a couple covers," Rick says, "songs about people, places and things — like good friends and crazy neighbors, dry dirt and pompadoured flirts, busy roads and horny toads — all of them motivatin', salivatin' and procreatin' to their own crazy beat!" Look for it now in all formats - download, CD and LP!!!

Too Much Pork For Just One Fork

The Pig is Back!!!

Kudzu Records is proud to announce the reissue of Too Much Pork For Just One Fork (TMP). The long out of print album by Southern Culture on the Skids has been re-mastered and is available as a download and a CD. The CD has original artwork by Rick and photos by D. Kent Thompson. TMP is available here at in the coming weeks so keep checking the web site for details.

Here are a few words from Rick about the record and some of the folks who helped make it happen...